top of page
Search

Why I've done this project

This is just going to be a very short blog post but it seemed appropriate that I set out a bit of my own personal background when it comes to mental health and I have thousands of words that I could - probably should - put to paper but, the reality is, I don’t want to.


I find it impossible to talk about my own experiences at any great length and that is why I have been so motivated to produce this documentary: to give students, and universities, the opportunity to tell the stories in a way that I couldn’t articulately do about my own.


The reason I don’t discuss my experiences in great detail isn’t because I don’t think it’s important but that, in my own continuing circumstances, it’s not the right time for me to revisit past events. Not yet, anyway.


That hasn’t resulted in any shortage of passion for the project in fact I’d suggest quite the opposite: it has fuelled the fire to lift the lid on student mental health services and build up that picture of what’s working well and what needs to improve going forward.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How the documentary was made!

The starting point for this documentary was a previous project at the beginning of 2021 that explored five year trends in student mental health services at Bournemouth University. For that feature I a

Editing the documentary

I used Adobe Audacity to record my voiceover and edit the documentary. I did this over four full-days in the radio studio and a large proportion of that time was spent making small changes to my scrip

Interviews, Interviews and MORE interviews!

Once all the data came in I was able to identify themes in the numbers that I wanted to take a closer look at understand the reasoning behind: the nearly 100,000 increase in students accessing mental

bottom of page